My latest article is on a survey that was carried out by the West Midlands Regional Observatory Group. Bearing in my mind I was struggling for ideas at the beginning of the week, I managed to find a couple of stories that I could chase up. I may even be able to squeak another story in before the final assignment deadline.

My next idea is based on the fact that Advantage West Midlands have announced that they will be investing £19.5 million in a new Low Carbon Vehicles Technology (LCVT) programme that is estimated will create between 3,000 and 11,500 jobs in the UK by 2020. The programme will fund technological advances in areas such as batteries, motors and aerodynamics. The campaign has been supported by a number of players including Jaguar Land Rover, Tata Motors, Zytek and Ricardo.

It is hoped the funding  will boost the Midlands’ status as the place to do business when looking to develop and produce low carbon vehicles and related technologies.

This is great news for the Midlands! What are your thoughts? Is the Midlands starting to step up to the plate?
Click here to access to my article

