Fabio Capello

My second day at Sky News with the Sports team was not quite as eventful as yesterday but there were plenty of things that I did to keep me occupied for the whole day.

Obviously with the World Cup on, I did three articles on this topic. Spain get their World Cup campaign underway tomorrow against Switzerland and I wrote a piece about Spain attempting to step forward and claim their first World Cup crown (This blog will be uploaded on the same day as Spain play).

I will come to the second article after but my final article focused on Australia’s bid to host the football World Cup in either 2018 or 2022. Frank Lowy who is a member on the FIFA board as well as being an Australian-Israeli businessman feels that Oz can host major events as we saw with the Olympics in Sydney back in 2000. Personally I feel that Australia might just have an outside chance of having the opportunity to host the World Cup in 2022.

Since this years World Cup is taking place in South Africa, it is probable that the 2018 World Cup will be given to a European country (Fingers crossed it is England). The Aussies have already proven that they can do it and I would not be surprised if they did come out victorious in their bid to host the World Cup in 2022 (Will probably be annoying for us Brits to have to either stay up late or get up in the early hours).

Finally my second article was based on England and Peter Crouch saying that Fabio Capello has told his side to stay optimistic despite their 1-1 opening draw against the USA. To be honest the result against the US was not ideal but it was not disastrous. As long as Capello’s side beat Algeria and Slovenia then that is fine. But they do need to improve and be more lethal when in front of goal. Obviously you cannot afford to make any major blunders like Robert Green did on the big stage otherwise it could cost you. 

Not forgetting I saw the New Zealand-Slovakia game and the much hyped Ivory Coast – Portugal clash. So not a bad day overall then.  

That’s all I have to say for today but I’ll be back to let you know what my third day was like.

