It was another day in the office but it was by no means a boring day. There were plenty of sporting events for the sports team to get their teeth into.

For much of the morning, I spent time on watching the Frank Lampard press conference as well as typing up an article on the France team resuming training. Whilst viewing the Lampard conference, I made notes based on what the Chelsea man said and when he made interesting points.

The Wimbledon tournament got underway today so as well as focusing on the World Cup we also had to note down what was happening at SW19. I made notes on Elena Baltacha’s match against Petra Martic and like the press conference I noted down the key moments. Unfortunately from a British perspective, Baltacha was beaten in three sets despite winning the first one.  

After watching the British No.1 crash out in the First Round, I then saw Roger Federer’s game against Alejandro Falla.  By the time I tuned in, Falla was already one set up and when the Colombian won the second I just thought to myself could the shock be on here. However you cannot afford to underestimate Federer and at one point Falla was serving for the match. Federer won the third and fourth set and from there it seemed there would be only one outcome.

Falla for sure made it difficult for Roger and the Colombian should be very happy with his display despite losing the game. I’m sure many of Federer’s future opponents may look back at this game to see where they can exploit Roger’s weaknesses. Federer is not invincible but I still fancy him to go far in this tournament.

I mainly focused on Wimbledon although I did see the Portugal-North Korea game as well as keeping up to date with the Chile-Switzerland game.

End of Day 6, not a bad day at all. It could have been worse but I had plenty to keep me occupied.

