Yes it was another day spent at Sky News HQ in Osterley but I was given plenty of things to do to keep me occupied.

Since England are playing Slovenia tomorrow (Those who read this will realise that this game will be on the same day as I upload this blog), the editor told me to dig in for some information about England’s final group opponents. Might sound boring but it wasn’t actually.

To be honest there was plenty of sport taking place e.g. World Cup, Wimbledon as well as the cricket one day international between England and Australia down at The Rose Bowl in Hampshire.

I was told to focus on the Serena Williams game. Serena did make light work of Michelle Larcher De Briter in the first set although the 17-year old did make a better fist of it in the second set.

Williams however came through the game with flying colours and showed her Championship credentials. The final task I had to do was write a single article on the France-South Africa game in addition to the Uruguay-Mexico game.

I basically had to watch two games at the same time which was pretty hard. However I was mainly focusing on the South Africa game so I did not have to write much on the Uruguay game.

It would have been a fairytale if Bafana Bafana qualified for the second round but it was just not to be. At half time I was thinking you know what maybe the South Africans can pull it off. Had Katlego Mphela put away his early chance in the second half then Bafana Bafana would have only required one more goal.

Once Florent Malouda scored for France, it was always going to be difficult for South Africa to do something special. Nonetheless beating a team like France is not a bad result at all for the South Africans.

Where do you start with France? I’m not going to write an essay on this but everything just went wrong for them on and off the pitch. I’m sure many of the French fans will be pleased to see the back of Raymond Domenech and hope that Laurent Blanc can do a better job.

Fingers crossed England can do the job tomorrow and put in a better performance than they put in against Algeria. Anything less than a win, then Fabio Capello’s side could be heading for an unexpected early exit. Capello could also be axed as England manager. I hope not. Come on England!

