It was always going to be difficult for West Bromwich Albion to get something from the game against Manchester City. But relieving Roberto di Matteo of his duties was a huge shock.

Don’t get me wrong 13 defeats from 18 games is a cause for concern but sacking di Matteo after he got The Baggies promoted last season is wrong. I understand recent results have not been great but I believe di Matteo would have got us out of trouble.

I just hope Jeremy Peace knows what he is doing for his sake and for West Bromwich Albion. It is vital Albion survive in the Premiership and I’m sure the fans are starting to get fed up with the club’s yo-yo tag.

West Brom as we all know are struggling for form but when the news came that di Matteo had left the club; I was in absolute shock as I’m sure most Albion fans were. I wish Roberto the best of luck and would like to say thank you for what he did during his time at The Hawthorns.

Getting rid of your manager at this stage of the season is questionable and if I was Peace I would have at least given di Matteo until the end of the season. But obviously the chairman appears to know best.

I don’t recall any West Brom fans this season wanting di Matteo to get sacked and personally I feel Peace has pressed the panic button. Only time will tell if Peace has made the right decision.

The Tevez Show

Its fair to say it was the Carlos Tevez show on Saturday and all the damage was done in the first half. Yet again soft goals conceded and if you are going to compete in this league, you cannot afford to be giving the opposition easy goals.

Yes Manchester ‘money bags’ City have world class players in the squad but it was all too easy for them and you would have liked to have seen Albion come out of the blocks quicker.

Albion did improve in the second half but it was damage limitation and the game was over by half-time.

Worse still, Wigan beat Blackburn and Birmingham won at West Ham to leave the Baggies outside the relegation zone only on goal difference. I have to say I fear for Albion now and I wonder where their next result will come from.

Now is the time for every West Brom player to stand up and be counted and show the fans they have got the character for a battle and steer away from relegation.

The defence must improve drastically from now till the end of the season and if The Baggies continue to concede silly goals then they will get relegated.

West Brom’s next two games are huge and if they do not get a minimum of four points, then I really will start to worry about whether they can get out of this mess.

West Ham have picked up of late but they are inconsistent and this is a game Albion MUST-WIN. Then there is the small matter of a Black Country derby against Wolves.

Two wins could make a huge difference and things will look a whole lot better for West Brom. But like I said now is the time for the players to stand up and be counted and show the fans they can get out of trouble.

New Manager?

So who will be Roberto di Matteo’s successor? It will be interesting to see who gets appointed as Albion’s new manager. I will get slated for saying this but I don’t think Sam Allardyce would be a bad shout.

I agree his style of football is not attractive and has not won many plaudits. However his sides have always been able to grind out results and they have been difficult to play against. Look what he did at Blackburn. Grinding out results at this point of the season I would not mind at all.

Blackburn were down in the doldrums before Big Sam came in and it was Allardyce who turned the clubs fortunes around and he managed to steer the club away from the relegation zone. He also did a great job at Bolton so Allardyce does know how to keep sides up.

Another name who has been linked with the manager vacancy is Martin Jol. The Ajax manager has managed in the Premiership before with Spurs. Jol did a decent job at White Hart Lane and he almost got Spurs into the Champions League.

The former Spurs boss has played for Albion but whether he would leave Ajax is a different matter. But still if he was to be appointed, I feel he would do a good job and keep Albion up.

This is a long shot in my opinion but I wonder if Martin O’Neill would be interested in the Albion managerial vacancy. O’Neill worked wonders at Aston Villa and turned them from relegation candidates to a Champions League chasing side.

Perhaps the way he left the club will be something the Villa fans will not forgive him for. However he did a great job at Villa Park and he also did brilliantly with Celtic and Leicester City. Would he be interested in becoming manager of West Bromwich Albion? I’m not sure he would but you never know.

I would be interested to hear from Albion fans who would you like to see become the next manager? Keep The Faith and Let’s Get Behind The Baggies!

