Having a stubborn cough that wouldn’t go away in this past week has been pretty frustrating to say the least. But even that wasn’t going to stop me from running.

Even if I wasn’t able to run as many miles as I would have liked this week, the miles are still ticking along nicely and it has been a solid start to my #1000milechallenge for Children in Need.

This week, a short but enjoyable 4 mile run on Wednesday and then my longest run of year on Saturday – 12.5 miles. I will be doing longer runs in preparation for my first marathon of 2017 at the Manchester Marathon on 02 April and my training is only going to continue to be more gruelling, But it needs be and actually I am enjoying my running more than ever.

So after my latest run for Children in Need, I am now 89.5 miles into my #1000milechallenge and the first milestone of the challenge is within touching distance – reaching 100 miles.

#ReasonToRun  

I went to see Lion this week and firstly I want to say it was an emotional and spine-tingling film. Be prepared to have tissues at the ready and it is no real surprise that the film has been nominated for awards at this year’s Oscars.

I thoroughly enjoyed Lion but it also put into perspective the grim realities so many children worldwide have to face every day. There are many children not just in the UK but worldwide who are living in poverty and struggle on a daily basis.

No child should ever have to live in poverty and no child should ever have to struggle in life. Which is why your donations to Children in Need can make a big difference to improve the lives of young/disadvantaged children in the UK. And is also one of the reasons why I am taking on the #1000milechallenge for Children in Need this year, to raise money to go towards projects to help young/disadvantaged children build better lives.  04-02-17-insta

By also taking on the #1000milechallenge, I want to continue to inspire young/disadvantaged children in the UK to never give up in life. Children may have a disability but that shouldn’t stop them from going onto succeed in life. No one should be afraid to follow their dreams.

Please help make a difference and donate to a wonderful cause. You can donate online by visiting my JustGiving page: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Manish-Patel1000.

You can also follow my progress during my #1000milechallenge by visiting my JustGiving, Twitter (@Baggies20) and Instagram (manishpatel89) pages.

And don’t forget if you would like to get involved with my challenge, message me and I would love to hear from you.

 

