It’s been just over a couple of weeks now since I ran the Manchester Marathon and I’m now 296.8 miles into my #1000milechallenge for Children in Need.

Since the Manchester Marathon I must admit I have been easing back into my running and haven’t been pushing myself too much (although I did do 15.8 miles on 15 April). But I have to say I am enjoying my running more than ever and am feeling good right now.

Training is going well and now busy preparing for the Birmingham 10k at the end of April and the Liverpool Marathon at the end of May.

Reflecting

Looking back on the Manchester Marathon (my second full marathon and the first in 2017), I can honestly say that it was a fantastic day. So many great people running for a number of charities/great causes and the support from the Manchester people was incredible.

It’s just amazing what having support can do for you. Just gives you that eDSC_0283xtra incentive to do well and extra oomph.

Keeping myself regularly hydrated (water) and eating jelly babies really did help and will bear this in mind going forward when taking part in future marathons.

The race itself went well and it was only until I got to mile 21 that I started to walk. Once I reached mile 21 I did then stop and start more often than I would have liked. But up until the 21st mile, I paced myself well and honestly felt comfortable. So there are plenty of positives to take from the marathon.

And if you said to me at the start of the Manchester Marathon that you would finish the race 15 minutes quicker than the time recorded at your first ever marathon, I would have snatched your hand off.

Overall a top day and the weather was perfect for running. And the day was topped off with a free pint of Erdinger Alkoholfrei. Can’t complain really.

Liverpool Marathon here I come. You can also check out my video blog reflecting on the Manchester Marathon (published on 08 April).

(YouTube video blog published on 08 April)

Children in Need

Running the Manchester Marathon was part of my 2017 #1000milechallenge for Children in Need to help improve the lives of young/disadvantaged children in the UK.

My #ReasonToRun for Children in Need this year is to inspire young/disadvantaged children to never give up in life and never turn your back on your dreams. Children may have a disability but that shouldn’t stop them from going onto succeed in life. No one should be afraid to follow their dreams. You can achieve anything if you work hard, think positive and believe in yourself.

Your donation can help change and improve the lives of young people and bring a smile to their face. Please donate generously even if it’s just a couple of pounds. Every penny and pound donated will go towards projects nationally to help children build better lives. It will also help children to achieve their potential and turn their dreams into reality. Please help make a difference. Thank you so much.

You can donate online by visiting my JustGiving page: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Manish-Patel1000.

You can also follow my progress during my #1000milechallenge by visiting my JustGiving, Twitter (@Baggies20) and Instagram (manishpatel89) pages.

